Cornelius, New Edition honored during Soul Train Awards



The Soul Train Awards 2012 was held at Planet Hollywood Live in Las Vegas and simulcast on BET and Centric on Nov. 25. The Soul Train Awards is a presentation of Centric Network.

Don Cornelius

The host was Cedric the Entertainer and included performances from artists including: Stevie Wonder, Charlie Wilson, New Edition, Ne-Yo, and 2 Chainz.

Celebrities from music, film, sports and television such as Jamie Foxx, Stevie Wonder, Eddie Levert, Billy Crystal, Earvin “Magic” Johnson, Melanie Fiona, Jody Watley, Doug E. Fresh, Tony Rock, Luke James, Estelle, Donny and Marie Osmond, Vampire Diaries star Kat Graham, and Tamar Braxton, joined Soul Train in celebrating some of the best musical contributions of 2012.

Tribute by Watley
This year’s show honored New Edition with the Lifetime Achievement Award and paid tribute to late Soul Train founder, Don Cornelius.

The contributions Cornelius made to music changed the landscape of the industry. As a tribute, the awards show featured video vignettes from old broadcasts, as well as moving words from his son, Tony Cornelius and “Soul Train’’ standout Jody Watley, who attributes much of her success to Cornelius and Soul Train.

New Edition, whose career has spanned 30 years, were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and followed their moving acceptance speech with a performance of their hits: “Candy Girl,” “Telephone Man,” and “If It Isn’t Love.” Their performance reminded the audience why they fell in love with New Edition from the very beginning.

New Edition was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A performance by Stevie Wonder turned into a massive celebration of President Barack Obama when his hit “Superstition” was followed by a performance of “Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I’m Yours,” which was accompanied by projected photos of The President.

2012 winners
The 2012 Soul Train Awards winners are:

Best New Artist: Elle Varner
Centric Award: Leah Labelle
Best Gospel/ Inspirational Performance: Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks’  “Celebrate”
Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year: Kanye West featuring Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz “Mercy”
Best R&B/ Soul Female Artist: Beyoncé
Best R&B/ Soul Male Artist:  Miguel
Album of the Year: 
Frank Ocean’s “Channel Orange’’
Song of the Year: Tyrese’s “Stay”
The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award: “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”: John Legend featuring  Ludacris
Best Dance Performance: Beyonce – “Love On Top” Best Caribbean Performance — Sean Paul’s “Tomahawk Technique” Best International Performance – 
Estelle’s “Thank You” Best Independent R&B/ Soul Artist or Group — Eric Roberson Best Traditional Jazz Artist/ Group was a tie – The Robert Glasper Experiment, “Black Radio,’’ and Tony Bennett, “Isn’t It Romantic.’’ Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/ Group — 
Esperanza Spalding-Radio Music Society.

Encore presentations of Soul Train Awards 2012 will air:

•Saturday, Dec. 1 at 9 p.m. on BET
•Thursday, Dec. 6 at 9 p.m. on BET
•Saturday, Dec. 8 at 5:30 p.m. on Centric
•Friday, Dec. 14 at 8 p.m. on Centric

For more information, visit

You must be logged in to post a comment Login